Source: Cricinfo

GLvKXIP became another match to be happy for Punjab fans. Ending the drought of win, Kings XI Punjab finally came out strong against Gujarat Lions. Murli Vijay captaining the Punjab side looked determined and made some changes. However, it was the strict bowling with genuine discipline that gave KXIP a win.

Read More

Click Here for IPL Points Table

GLvKXIP Match Summary

Source- Cricinfo

Maxwell Failed again

Gujarat Lions won the toss and elected to bowl first in Rajkot. The pitch had something early on and Suresh Raina wanted the bowler to do something special. Raina knew that his batting strength is immense and has the potential to chase down any target. But everyday is not same. Murli Vijay stood firm and had a good partnership with Stoinis. Shaun Marsh and Glenn Maxwell failed miserably. However, released from Captaincy, David Miller looked confident and fresh and scored some valuable runs for his team. Wriddhiman Saha also made a solid contribution at the end. KXIP played balanced cricket but IPL 2016 has been a tournament where 154 is not a safe target and Punjab bowlers needed something special for GLvKXIP match.

Source- Cricinfo

Axar hat trick set the match

Gujarat Lions started poor and the panic button was on. They kept on losing wickets and lost half of the team for just 39 runs in the 7th over. It was very tough to come back from that stage. Axar Patel did the damage as he took the first hat trick of IPL 2016. He sent Smith, Bravo, and Jadeja back to the hut in successive deliveries. It was a tough to ask for Ishan Kishan and James Faulkner and the Gujarat team was reduced to 131 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 9 wickets. It would be very tough for KXIP to come back in the tournament but they are now trying to improve the IPL 9 campaign.

Source- Cricinfo

GLvKXIP Scoreboard

Kings XI Punjab – 154/10 – 19.5 Overs
Murli Vijay – 55(41) Shivil Kaushik – 4-0-20-3
W Saha – 33(19) D Bravo-4-0-33-2
Gujarat Lions – 131/9 – 20Overs
James Faulkner– 32(27) Axar Patel– 4-0-21-4
Ishan Kishan– 27(24) Mohit Sharma-4-0-32-3